Dijon mustard is a delicious and versatile condiment that goes well with almost anything. Juicy burgers, salad dressings, and roasted chicken, to name a few. But, is Dijon mustard gluten-free?
Dijon mustard is a yellowish sauce or paste made from fermented white vinegar, citric acid, tartaric acid, salt, water, white wine vinegar, and mustard seeds. The name comes from the French city of Dijon where it was originally produced. Today, the United States imports over 90% of its mustard supply.
"Is Dijon mustard gluten-free?"
It depends on whether you mean gluten-free in terms of ingredients or gluten-free as in celiac disease. Gluten-Free diet labeling requirements vary widely across countries. In the U.S., manufacturers can label their foods containing less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten as being gluten-free. This means that even though they contain a bit of wheat flour, they are labeled as suitable for a gluten-free diet on the product labels.
Most mustards are gluten-free and suitable for special diets; however, some contain malt vinegar, which has gluten. This contamination with wheat makes mustard unsuitable for gluten-free diets. The gluten-free label on products depends on good manufacturing practices and brands that recognize the seriousness of food allergies. The brands I've recommended below understand cross contamination and the importance of correct labeling.
So, let's dive into dijon mustard and its ingredients, while also exploring other mustard varieties from popular mustard brands like organic yellow mustard and organic honey mustard. I'll share some of my favorite brands of mustard that are also safe for dairy-free diets.
What is in mustard?
Mustard sauce is made from ground yellow mustard seeds, vinegar, water, salt, sugar, and spices. The ingredients must be mixed together well and then cooked for about 10 minutes at high heat until thickened.
How is mustard made?
Once the thickened mustard sauce has cooled, the mixture is strained through cheesecloth to remove any remaining solids.
Is Dijon Mustard Gluten-Free?
Yes, basic dijon mustard is gluten-free; however, some manufacturers may add ingredients such as malt vinegar to their recipes. Malt vinegar contains gluten, so it should be avoided by those with celiac disease. If you're unsure whether your product contains gluten, ask your manufacturer. I recommend the app Spoonful to quickly check if something is gluten-free at the grocery store. I would also like to note that mustard is vegan and is suitable for special diets like the dairy-free diet.
Gluten-Free Mustard Options
Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard
Grey Poupon doesn't contain any gluten, but the mustard may be cross-contaminated when it's made. If you are celiac, avoid Grey Poupon mustard.
French's Classic Dijon Mustard
French's Classic Dijon Mustard does not have a gluten-free label, so there may be some cross-contamination. But, French's Yellow Mustard and Spicy Brown Mustard are labeled gluten-free. I think we can all agree French's mustard is a classic condiment, and it is totally safe for gluten intolerance.
Sir Kensington's Mustard
Sir Kensington's Mustard is certified gluten-free and labeled with a gluten-free label on the package. It's a delicious, tangy mustard perfect for sandwiches. Also, check out Sir Kensington's Yellow Mustard with a splash of white wine vinegar if you like a basic yellow mustard.
Boar's Head Honey Mustard
Boar's Head is a fabulous brand because they label their products with a gluten free label. In fact, all of their mustards and sauces are certified gluten-free. Boar's Head has an entire line of gluten-free mustards including yellow mustard, honey mustard dipping sauce, and delicatessen-style mustard. It's awesome that with Boar's Head you don't have to worry about cross - contamination. There's no need to check allergen statements on Boar's Head mustards because they're all gluten-free.
Annie's Horseradish Mustard
I love Annie's. They do such a good job with gluten-free products. Annie's Homegrown Organic Yellow Mustard is tangy, smooth, and delicious. It's the classic yellow mustard taste that you're craving made with distilled vinegar.
Koops' Spicy Brown Mustard
Looking for spicy mustard? Try Koops. It's completely gluten-free and totally delicious, according to the ingredient statement. It's a product of the USA and made in Wisconsin. Seriously love the extra spice this brown mustard gives sandwiches and salads.
Are All Dijon Mustards Gluten-Free?
For the most part, most organic dijon mustard is gluten-free. As I mentioned above, it's important to scan the product packaging and product details for any mention of malt, wheat, or rye. If the product is not labeled gluten-free, it means there may have been cross - contamination with gluten during manufacturing.
Ingredients in Dijon Mustard
Dijon mustard is made up of brown mustard seeds, white wine, organic vinegar, water, and salt. Alternatively, yellow mustard is made with white mustard seeds and colored with turmeric. Sometimes, brands add in natural flavors like chardonnay wine, garlic powder, and other organic ingredients to spice up the mustard as an added bonus.
How to Use Dijon Mustard
You can use dijon mustard in so many ways! Some of my favorite dishes contain regular yellow mustard. Mix up a delicious salad dressing using dijon mustard as the base, mix into cold salads, massage a dijon mustard sauce into a rotisserie chicken, or use it as a delicious condiment. I think we can all agree it's the second most loved condiment behind ketchup on hot dogs.